Brushstrokes: a type of caress

Beginning my newest painting, I blocked in my whites preparing for the first pour. As I masked the delicate bones in the horse’s head, each brushstroke felt like I was caressing his face.

newAs you can see, I’m trying some new strategies for the poured watercolor technique.  After the first mask, I painted the eye and added a blue wash behind the horse.  After the wash dried, I added mask to that area also in anticipation for the first pour.  In the background you can see my pencil study and palette.  Once I start to pour, I will put away my palette.  For pouring, I use a large tub, several small plastic cups, a syringe, a sponge, and my masking tools.

Leave a Reply

