High Point opens at the Creamery Arts Center in Hotchkiss 10/10/14

from a CAC press release:

“High Point”: The Art of Showing Horses at the Creamery Arts Center

best birthday present ever - barbara haynie

To celebrate the year of the Horse, Barbara Haynie and Cheri Isgreen will be presenting a 2-person equine art exhibition at the Creamery Arts Center in Hotchkiss. The show connects their two passions: horses and visual art. The opening reception will be held on Friday, October 10th from 6 to 8pm. This exhibit will be on display through November 10th.

Isgreen and Haynie state: “The show references where and how we live: the rural, high country of Colorado. We entitled the show “High Point” because we wanted a strong connection between the idea of an art show and the idea of a horse show: High Point- the horse with the highest average placing in one year of competition, High Point- a high altitude place with a beautiful view, such as found in Colorado, High Point- the best part of an experience. As horsewomen, the high point of our days is when the connection between the horse and rider is both elegant and sublime. High Point- an art show for art lovers, horse lovers, equestrians, and artists”

Barbara Haynie: “Horses are huge in my life, inexorably woven into my psyche, practically part of my DNA. The older I grow, the deeper are my feelings about them. Art is huge for me too. Put the two together and through some form of magic, the whole becomes larger than the parts. While working for my fine arts degree, I refused to paint horses. At the time I thought it was too convenient a subject and perhaps too conservative for the avant-garde art world. But eventually I reached a point where horses HAD to be in my art. I push the envelope with hog-wild color, giving my paintings a twist between pop art and Fauve”.

c isgreenCheri Isgreen: “I am fascinated by the relationship between light and shadow on natural forms. Compositions for watercolor paintings develop as I respond to the interplay of light and dark shapes with initial value studies. As I paint, I seek fresh, unexpected color mixtures through poured techniques and spontaneous wet-into-wet brushwork. I strive for a sense of mystery and narrative in each painting. A lifelong horsewoman, I study dressage and teach Equitherapy. Monarch, my wise and sensitive partner in this healing work, is a Lipizzan X Andulusian gelding and frequently appears as a subject of my paintings”.

This is a must see show for all horse lovers in the area. A silent auction for a painting donated by Cheri will benefit Spirit Wind Horse Rescue.  Please join us for an evening of hors d’ oeuvres, local wines, microbrews and meet Cheri, a dedicated and passionate rider/artist, and Beth, founder of Spirit Wind Rescue.   It’s sure to be a “High Point” in your week! The Creamery Arts Center is located at 165 W. Bridge Street, Hotchkiss.  http://creameryartscenter.org/special-shows/now-showing

Leave a Reply

