HOME for the HOLIDAYS opens this FRIDAY, DEC. 5TH

I am back in Montrose after showing my artwork across Colorado with artist, Barb Haynie.   Home for the Holidays is my second solo show of 2014, highlighting my newest equine paintings in watercolor.  The show opens Friday, Dec. 5th at A&Y Design Gallery during the Montrose First Friday Art Walk.  The Opening Reception runs from 5:30- 8:00 PM.  A&Y Design Gallery is located at 513 Main Street, Montrose.   Home for the Holidays  runs through Dec. 31st.  For information, contact Yesenia Duncan at A&Y Gallery, (970) 240-7914

I see my artwork as an unbridled passion for the horse’s noble spirit, grace, and atheleticism.  “Unbridled” is perhaps a pun, yet the bulk of my work celebrates the horse without tack.  It does not portray a specific style of riding.

Horse Painting
“Holly” copyright
Watercolor; size 12″ X 15″

My artistic style conveys a contemporary Western aesthetic, fitting a range of decor, including Colorado casual, rustic chic, log homes,  and equine enthusiasts.  This style has evolved from the bulk of my life lived in rural, western Colorado blended with a BA in art, many years teaching art, my study of classical riding, and all the wonderful horsewomen and men I’ve known in all riding/driving disciplines who have enriched my life.

For this show with the holidays quickly approaching, I have also created gift items based on my artwork and several lines of cards, including equine-themed Christmas cards.  For equestrians and writers, I have a new line of writing journals and training journals.

3 thoughts on “HOME for the HOLIDAYS opens this FRIDAY, DEC. 5TH

  1. Wish I could be there to enjoy the opening reception with year…Proud of all you accomplished this year. I’ll bet you are at least a little happy to see it coming to an end—at least the constant packing up, traveling, and unpacking part!

    1. YES, the traveling part got to be a bit much. I am now represented in 3 galleries- The Blue Pig- Palisade, Colorado; A&Y Design Gallery- Montrose, CO; and The Stable Woman Habit- Geneva, Ill. My next show is scheduled for The Ridgway Public Library & run Jan-March 2015.

      1. The opening was well received and attended. It is a beautiful show with Missy Rogers fine pastel landscapes complementing my work. It provides a nice context for the horses. The show run through Dec.31st

Leave a Reply

