A Few Pages from my Sketchbook

I have been working on some pencil studies of Conversano Mima, a friend’s 20 year old Lipizzan stallion at White Horse Vale Lipizzans in Goldendale, Washington.  The studies are very different.  The first is a dynamic expression of horse power, while the other is a formal portrait.  Because the drawings are so different, the approach to these paintings suggests different techniques and strategies.  The next step is to test out some of my ideas with watercolor.

study of Conversano Mima, pencil, copyright CIsgreen 2015
study of Conversano Mima, pencil, copyright CIsgreen 2015
portrait study of Conversano Mima, pencil, copyright CIsgreen 2015
portrait study of Conversano Mima, pencil, copyright CIsgreen 2015
4 thoughts on “A Few Pages from my Sketchbook

    1. Thank you. I love to draw as much as I enjoy the painting process. Drawing is about research, and I learn so much from going through that exercise before I paint. I will check out the information you sent about the latex mask.

Leave a Reply

