Update to Demo: Montrose Visual Arts Guild & Western Colorado Center for the Arts

BY VARYING THE ELEMENTS OF ART, THE COMPOSITION CAN TURN OUT QUITE DIFFERENTLY. The original blog discussed the poured watercolor technique. Below are photos of the final pour and the results after the mask was removed. I used the same design for one of my demos for my recent workshop held last weekend, June 20-21 at the Western Colorado Center for the Arts in Grand Junction. By changing the massing of big shapes, the value scheme (where the light and dark areas would appear), and using a warm (rather than cool) color scheme, I was able to change both the season and the mood of the second painting.

Final pour
Final pour
dark forest demo
dark forest demo; copyright C Isgreen
"Summer Light" demo for WCCA June 2015, copyright C Isgreen
“Summer Light” demo for WCCA June 2015, copyright C Isgreen

 

The change of masses, values, and palette emphasizes the effects of summer light on the forest.  Comparing the two paintings, I realize how much weather influences my design choices.  The first painting was made during a cold, dark, wet spring.  This latest painting was created during record sunshine and hot weather!

Cheri Isgreen Fine Art

Feel free to come down to the MVAG meeting, Monday 3/22/15 as I demonstrate poured watercolor technique.  In preparing for the demo, I have begun 2 paintings showing different stages of the pour.  Here is the process up to where I will demo tomorrow:1 pour Drawing is sketched and ready for small early details before first mask.  The bottom drawing is much darker, so the details would show for photographing each step. 2pour Small details painted and foreground masked. Ready for first pour- lightest value 3pour First pour: cobalt blue, Windsor blue-green, raw sienna, burnt sienna, random left-over transparent yellow from last painting

4pour

Second mask. Lots of pinholes to cover where mask shrinks as it dries.  I think part of the reason this happens is that I coat my brush with soap to protect it.  As I apply mask, the soap creates soap bubbles.  I used a mask pen for all the fine detail around the…

View original post 159 more words

Leave a Reply

